Im new to the bass, what amp do i need???

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by ganimast, Nov 21, 2007.

1. ganimast

ganimast

Hey guys, im a musician playing the guitar for 5 years now, and ive decided to learn the bass to expand my musical horizon, but....
    I know almost nothing about the bass lol

My question is:
    I already have an amp for my electric guitar, so can i use that for my electric bass, or do i need a special kind of amp?

Thank you ^_^

2. deelybopper

deelybopper

Bass will sound pretty thin through most guitar cabinets/combos. For practice it might be barely acceptable, but for any kind of performance you will need a bass amp & cabinet.

3. NMK Nate

NMK Nate

Disclosures:
    National Sales Rep, Full Compass Systems
    When I started learning I bought a cheap Kustom combo amp.

It sounded terrible, and the input connector blew on it in 3 weeks. I chucked it in the garbage and used my Crate guitar amp for the first few months. (and it sounded better then the cheap amp I bought before)

If you have a decent sounding amp, I'd say go for it. Just make sure to keep your gain down and you'll be fine.

4. mjolnir

mjolnir Thor's Hammer 2.1.3beta

Peavey is a great starter. They're not exactly well known for tone, but they're good work horses, and built like tanks.

Oh, and welcome to TB. :D

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. locolobo85

locolobo85

I would suggest finding yourself a nice size practice amp 100-150W that will be plenty great for practice and acceptable for playing in a practice space.

Right or wrong, I never liked running my bass through one of my guitar amps for fear of damaging the guitar speakers. It just seems to me like the bass pushes them a little too hard.

7. Bryan316

Bryan316 Banned

No matter what you get, your first bass amp will suck and you'll grow to hate it. I've never met a bassist who liked their first bass amp.