Improvising bass solo over chord changes on Summertime ?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Bass Baron, Nov 30, 2013.

1. Bass Baron

Bass Baron

Disclosures:
    International Artist: MTD Kingston basses
    Improvising bass solo on Summertime what modes could i use on it? It goes on Dminor right? Sorry if the question is confusing i'm a bit new to analyzing chord changes to improvising.

Thanks!

2. FretlessMainly

FretlessMainly

I'm curious as to why you ask what modes you could use. I generally play Summertime in A minor, and with the prominence of the E7, that strongly suggests A harmonic minor. Of course, as with many jazz standards, there are changes that are outside of the home key, so keep that in mind. It's not all A harmonic minor.

No need to think about modes here, even if it seems cool to mention them.

3. Bass Baron

Bass Baron

Disclosures:

Yeah well like i said i'm kinda new in analyzing this stuff. Thanks a lot! I was thinking modes way too much :D

4. BassChuck

BassChuck Supporting Member

Why analyze? Don't over think it. Listen to the changes, and sing a melody that you feel fits the harmony. Play what you're singing. Trust your ear and your inner sense of music.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Bass Baron

Bass Baron

Disclosures:

Yeah i over thinked it a little thanks for the reply!

7. henry2513

henry2513 Supporting Member

You can use the modes sure but i'd try to experiment with Chord tones first, then Chord tones plus extensions which for a minor chord (without using alterations etc) would be 9th and 11th.

So it'd be:

R = D
    3rd = F
    5th = A
    7th = C
    9th = E
    11th = G

You could also go up a Minor 3rd and play over the major pentatonic. That gives you the "cool" extensions.

Unless you have a great sense of the fretboard and good relative pitch then it's a little difficult to "play what you sing" without it sounding like a garbled mess.

8. Stick_Player

Stick_Player

Yes, you over thunked it.