In a creative rut since learning more theory

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by zeppfan90, Jan 15, 2014.

1. zeppfan90

zeppfan90

I always knew my basic stuff. When to stay in certain keys, progressions, all the basic things most bassists or most musicians know. For the last 5 or 6 months I started to really dig deeper into all of it, also, I'm a music student so I sort of have to! And since then, I noticed a big drop in my creativity when I play by myself or jamming with other people because I keep wondering "can I play that?" "Is that technically correct?" I've started to sort of escape it just recently by sometimes not even worrying about it at all and doing what I used to do. Straight playing and having fun! Anyone else have experience with this problem?
  2. M0ses

M0ses

Nope.

As you've already discovered, it's you and your stupid head :smug: (just joking), not the theory. Keep doing what you're doing. Theory is really something you use when you have a problem; if the sailing is smooth, no need to worry about it. It can also be used to HELP get the creative juices flowing - if you're at a loss as to what to play somewhere, you can say, "ok, well, what are my OPTIONS?" and the nice thing about theory is that you almost never come up with just one answer, if you try hard enough.

The thing is, you were using theory before to tell you what to play, even if it was a less complete knowledge. You've moved on to a revised version of theory, but there's no reason it needs to drastically change the way you hear or play music. Most of it should be reaffirming what you can already hear. And of course, break those damn rules any old time you like. We all do. They're really more like guidelines. Keep playin' what sounds good!
  3. bkbirge

bkbirge Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: Steak n Shake