1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

In defense of 'star' grounding

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by frits51, Jan 29, 2013.

1. frits51

frits51 Supporting Member

I posted this in reply to a reply to a question I put up in another thread. Thought the subject deserved its own post (not that this is the first one on the topic!)

I'm an instrumentation and electrical tech by trade with minimal experience in guitar electronics. Nevertheless, electricity is subject to the same rules in my bass as it is in an instrumentation circuit.

My reason for 'star' grounding is this - The voltage we use in guitars is low. Thus, that voltage's ability to push through a resistance without being diminished is also comparatively low.

I do not want to make any signal, ground or otherwise, have to push its way through a steel pot case. I would rather have it zoom through a copper wire and back to the amp.

That is why I personally have chosen to employ 'star' grounding which provides each component in the bass with its own 100% copper path back to the amp.

That being said, my MIM P bass still has a buzz that goes away when I touch a knob, the bridge, the strings, the jack nut, etc.

My MIJ Jazz, on the other hand, is 'star' grounded (and has a Bourns M/N blend pot) and is quiet.

Interesting creatures, these basses...

2. llldino

llldino

When I rewired my bass, I didn't use star grounding and she's quiet. I think it's a matter of convenience more than anything. As long as everything goes to ground, the connections are solid, and there's no loops, right? Tested with a multimeter and it's 0 resistance across the board. Just sayin'.

3. line6man

line6man

Quoting myself from your other thread:

4. Mad Tango

Mad Tango