1. Please note: We are performing several software upgrades tonight, Sept 29th. Please bear with us. You may notice some formatting issues and other bugs.

Inadvertent harmonics

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by rayjohnd, Dec 29, 2013.

1. rayjohnd

rayjohnd

Hey guys. I've been playing guitar for 30 years and recently picked up the bass as a new challenge for myself and to be able to record my music without a band. I bought an '08 J bass and I absolutely love how it sounds but I'm noticing something when I play that I know will be an issue if I ever try to record. When I pick with my fingers, sometimes I'll make an inadvertent artificial harmonic when I am plucking the strings. It seems to happen whether I'm picking with my thumb near the pu or if I move it up closer to the neck. I've tried to move my hand around and also use a different picking attack angle but it keeps creeping in. Any advice on how to deal with this issue would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

JR

2. lz4005

lz4005

Are you hitting the string with your thumb instead of pulling and releasing? Or accidentally touching it after you pluck it?

Concentrate on plucking cleanly. The location and angle don't matter as much as the release. It's a different motion than how a lot of people use a pick on guitar, where you can sort of smack the pick against the strings, or graze it over them.

3. rayjohnd

rayjohnd