1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Increasing string length on 1/2 size bass

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by martin durkin, Jan 22, 2013.

1. martin durkin

martin durkin

Hi. I'm new to double bass and have just bought a 20 odd year old Boosey & Hawkes 1/2 size bass. The dimensions of the bass are more like 5/8, and the string length is 38 1/2 inches. I am 5'11 so the end pin is fully extended. I have heard that the string length can be increased by moving the bridge down say an inch, then adjusting the tailpiece and sound post. I intend to study and play this instrument, and when I can afford, to upgrade to 3/4, of better quality; I am worried about learning all my scales, shifts etc and developing poor technique due to the short scale e.g., I'm using my third finger a lot if playing in Ab or Db in first position, because I can. I'm just concerned the shorter scale will allow me to become stuck with bad habits, therefor that is why I was thinking of modifying the string length. Any suggestion; has anyone modified a bass this way?
  2. Eric Hochberg

Eric Hochberg

Bite the bullet, sell it, and get a 3/4 bass. You'll be glad you did.

If you keep it, learn to play it with the same technique you will use on the larger bass. I wouldn't use 4 finger now. The transition should be smooth if you stick to Simandl 124.
  3. robobass

robobass

Disclosures:
    Private Inventor - Bass Capos