Inept at Improv

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Reflective, Nov 3, 2012.

1. Reflective

Reflective

A recent situation made it clear to me how nonexistant my improv skills are. I sat down with a friend and my bass, he had his guitar and he said "Ok, go. you're the bass." I paused for a second, and delivered something totally half-assed, almost immediately cutting it off. We ended up just talking about theory, mostly because I wanted to avoid more embarassment.

I've been playing for about 9 years, almost entirely by myself. Covering songs, figuring them out by ear, trying to improv to random songs (I'll queue up songs from Pandora I haven't heard), technique practice, and theory study have been my main points of focus. I played a few times with a group that did beatles and old standards but other than that my social playing experience is nonexistant.

I want to break out and actually do something with music, but -

1. I'm too afraid of the social pressure
    2. I don't feel I have the skills to play with people.

Does anyone have some advice about this? Like for #2, what kind of things could I practice to not be caught with my pants down again at a jam? Any suggestions are appreciated.

2. 5 string tapper

5 string tapper

I think having the skills to play with people comes from playing with people so it's kind of a catch 22. The social pressure will be relieved when you finally find some people that you synch up with musically. At least a little bit.