InLace liquid inlay

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by wentworthk, Nov 12, 2012.

1. wentworthk

wentworthk

Hey Guys,

as you may have seen from before, I am a complete NOOB. just want to share my experience with this product, as I haven't found much on the web about this stuff...as it applies to stringed instruments.

To start out, I'm currently working on my first "project bass". It's an Epiphone EB-3 I got off ebay for 30 bucks. It came with no parts and was painted black.

Obviously, I wanted to take the paint off. in my infinite wisdom i assumed the inlay was mother of pearl, and didn't tape off the finger board when using jasco chemical paint stripper to take the paint off. well, it ate through the mother of plastic inlay when it got on there. so now I have to replace the inlay. crap. i just went for it and applied several coats of jasco to the plastic inlays and completely emptied the routed cavities they were in. nice clean holes now.

Having never done inlay before, but understanding the process that the hole's shape usually is dictated by the shape cut out of the mother of pearl, I had a predicament. especially this being an epiphone. Trust me, I've seen the precut shapes over at stew mac. but everything I've read says they wont fit due to it being an epi and not a gibson. apparently the epi trapezoid sides are more concave. oh well.

I racked my brain for an easy get of jail free card. route out squares? throw it away? i thought for about a week. then i found this stuff on line. InLace Liquid inlay. thank goodness.

so I've attached some images of the process that its going through. again, I've made sure that the holes are clean, and the wood is dry, apparently this stuff can have a hard time setting up and doing its thing if the wood its going into is really oily...

[​IMG]