Inspiration from learning theory.

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Rev J, Dec 31, 2012.

1. Rev J

Rev J

I've been playing for about 20 years and something I just realized when trying to put together material for a new project is looking at 3 tunes that I wrote (2 old and one new) is that they were all inspired by something I had learned studying theory and watching videos explaining theoretical concepts.

One tune is what I call a "Modal Blues". After learning about modal planing and putting a I-IV-V against a static bassline years later it clicked and I wrote this song superimposing a 12 bar blues against a funk bass ostinato.

Another I wrote while trying to explain tritone substitution to a guitarist. To give him an example I came up with a bassline/chord progression that went D7-G#7-G7-C#7.

And the third. I was watching a Damian Erskine video and he was talking about walking arpeggios over changes and instead of playing the root on each change playing the nearest chord tone. I thought to myself why not write a funk tune based on this same type of idea. So I sat down and for one section it has a Dmin7-G7/D, then transitions to Dmin7-G7/D-CMaj7/E, to Dmin7/F-G7/F-CMaj7/E, the next section is just a variation on the first section except it's Dmin7/F-G7/F. Then it repeats the turn around and goes into another section that goes Emin7-Amin7/E-Dmin7/F-G7/F twice and resolves to Cmaj7/E before going back to the original progression.

It seems like I've read plenty of interviews and comments from players talking about learning some new technique and writing songs around it but very little about players learning some new approach to theory and harmony and applying it. Am I alone in this phenomena?

C/S,
    Rev J

2. Ray man

Ray man

Alone, not at all.
    Interesting progression, the example you gave guitarist looks like a combo of secondary an substitute dominants.

Its very much like math and that turns most people off.
    Not me!

3. Rev J