1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Installing Tuner Bushings

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by comicbookguy95, Jan 13, 2014.

1. comicbookguy95

comicbookguy95

Howdy guys!

I need some advice on a project I've got going. I bought a Mighty Mite neck, some used tuners, and a set of Fender bushings. I've never done anything like this before and would LOVE some pointers. I'm thinking of using a big C clamp to push them in with steady, even pressure using some cloth to protect the bare wood.

Thanks Everyone!
    -Franklin

Attached Files:

2. KeddyLee

KeddyLee

That is exactly what I have done. I used something called a Quick-Grip. It has rubber cushions on the ends and uses a squeeze clamp. Worked perfectly!

3. bass_case

bass_case Used Register Supporting Member

Depending on the mating surfaces on your c-clamp, it may tend to slip off as you tighten. I used a metal clamp that had a swivel on the screw end so that didn't help. The squeeze type clamps (no turning required) would be better. Also, you need to protect the wood on the back and the ring in front. I used a socket (3/4"?) over the ring.

There is some variation in diameter of these, I had enlarge the neck holes with my Dremel.

Do a search, this has been covered before and someone posted how-to pictures.

4. bass_case

bass_case Used Register Supporting Member

No, use another piece of wood, cloth may not protect the neck and will give to much.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. lz4005

lz4005

If firm finger pressure or a few light taps with a rubber mallet can't get the bushing into the hole enlarge the hole slightly.

7. Huge

Huge Hell is full of musical amateurs. Like me. Supporting Member

Here's a video detailing the entire tuner install: