1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Instructors, responsibilities and matching

Discussion in 'Music Theory [DB]' started by Mutherplucker, Jun 19, 2012.

1. Mutherplucker

Mutherplucker

I'm new to music in general and have been taking lessons for around a year, but I'm feeling like I'm not only not progressing, but that I'm more lost than ever. My very enthusiastic (25 years my junior) instructor plays well, but often uses terms that I've explained I don't understand, then spends much of the time showing me by extended examples (on my bass) that I don't understand what I'm supposed to be seeing.

My lessons are only twice/month, and I know I'm not practicing as much as I should, but in all honesty, I'm not even sure what I'm supposed to be practicing half the time. This is having the unfortunate effect of causing me to view my bass with dread! My enthusiasm is just withering away and the only thing that I can be sure of is that I feel like I'm throwing money in the wind every other Thursday.

He tells me he thinks I'm improving, but I have a constant feeling of not getting it, and just repeating the same old things... That dread causes me to not want to practice, and the cycle continues...

Should I just suck it up and practice more? Spend more time really asking questions and push even harder that I'm not understanding?