Interchangable Pickup Harness?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by malagai, Mar 2, 2014.

1. malagai

malagai

Hello, I'm new to the boards. In fact, I'm pretty new to bass as well. I'm a drummer but I bought a bass to help with my rhythm and melodic sensibilities.

Anyway, I am not sure if this is a dumb question or not. Help prove me an idiot or a genius.

Is it possible to permanently wire a set of volume/tone/jack set of wires, what I'm guessing is called a harness, inside the cavity of a body behind half a pickguard, with all of the connectors leading to a computer/car stereo style wiring buckle like adaptor? Then could you wire your pickups onto a sliding plate that slots into the other half of that pickguard and attach all those wires to the other receiving end of that buckle?

It seems like someone would have expounded on the Dan Armstrong changeable pickup thing decades ago...or am I way behind and this is a common thing? Closest thing I've seen is one of those volume knobs with quick change screw ports, but I'm not even sure what that is about (sorry, I'm a drummer)

Anyway, you could have a huge set of a variety of vintage and modern combinations on the fly without much of a problem. If you made the pickup side pickguard rectangularish and evenly place your mount holes, you could try the configuration upside down (or backwards?) for laughs. Just need a body route big enough to accommodate the different sizes.

It's something I've talked to some guitar and bass players about but for the most part they seemed happy with what combinations already existed, or happy settling on the small window of choices for their custom bass builds.

I dunno, if it's dumb, let me know. If it's awesome, let me know. Just seems like there should be room for some variety using one bass as the platform instead of having to buy several basses for different sounds...? For me, I think I'd like to play on the one I'm used to all the time.

Thank you in advance,