Interesting A/B Switcher/ Dual Preamp

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by zwkoch, Feb 10, 2014.


  1. zwkoch

    zwkoch You can't do that on bass enthusiast Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Location:
    Twin Cities, MN
  2. bongomania

    bongomania Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Location:
    PDX, OR
    Disclosures:
    owner, OVNIFX and OVNILabs
    That does look very practical. If it had an XLR out, I bet people would swoon. But even without, it's two EQ presets with sweepable mids, or a two-input switcher with separate EQ's. Useful.
  3. scotch

    scotch Will play bass for fish tacos. Plus cash. Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Location:
    Nashville, TN USA
    Disclosures:
    Please see Profile for Endorsement disclosures
    Brilliant! I love the feature set, very practical for what I do. I need to find out what the input impedance is (to see if it works with an upright piezo)... This could be the Bassbone killer I've been searching for! Not having a balanced xlr out is a bummer though.
  4. ga_edwards

    ga_edwards

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2000
    Location:
    UK, Essex
    Shame there's no A+B option. Would be great for a 2 channel setup like mine, and save pedal board real estate.
  5. scotch

    scotch Will play bass for fish tacos. Plus cash. Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Location:
    Nashville, TN USA
    Disclosures:
    Please see Profile for Endorsement disclosures
    A+B? With cascading identical eq?
  6. Rickenmonster

    Rickenmonster Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2013
    Location:
    Vancouver,B.C.

    What does this mean? I thought a+b would be useful as well.
  7. scotch

    scotch Will play bass for fish tacos. Plus cash. Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Location:
    Nashville, TN USA
    Disclosures:
    Please see Profile for Endorsement disclosures
    I'm confused on the A+B thing, but curious!
  8. zwkoch

    zwkoch You can't do that on bass enthusiast Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Location:
    Twin Cities, MN
    Perhaps he meant two EQ channels with two outputs. Similar to a bi-amp rig.
  9. Swift713

    Swift713

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Location:
    The Berkshires, Ma
    I think he was talking about running them parallel, in a two channel rig.

    I like that this pedal doesn't try to do too much. Sure, I could use a headphone amp and you could use a DI and someone else could use an effects loop but then the price would go up and fewer people would buy it. Hey, if you want one box to do everything maybe you should be looking at digital multi effects.
  10. eddododo

    eddododo Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    I've been screaming for awhile that ALL VERSATILE/TWEAKABLE PEDALS SHOULD HAVE 2 CHANNELS OR PRESET FEATURES.

    This seems solid
  11. scotch

    scotch Will play bass for fish tacos. Plus cash. Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Location:
    Nashville, TN USA
    Disclosures:
    Please see Profile for Endorsement disclosures
    Ah ha! Independent channels! I get that.
  12. scotch

    scotch Will play bass for fish tacos. Plus cash. Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Location:
    Nashville, TN USA
    Disclosures:
    Please see Profile for Endorsement disclosures
    Exactly! Me too!
  13. bongomania

    bongomania Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Location:
    PDX, OR
    Disclosures:
    owner, OVNIFX and OVNILabs
    Well it does do the second thing, two inputs to one output. It just doesn't do two outputs.
  14. ga_edwards

    ga_edwards

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2000
    Location:
    UK, Essex
    Exactly right, this is indeed what I meant. I run two channels and eq them differently. To be able to do this in one box instead of two eq pedals, and mix them together in the same box replacing a 3rd pedal would be wonderful.

    I'm aware that there are other pedals that can do this, but they seem to take the approach of having completely different eq types on each channel, with one channel not offering the control I want. This would seem ideal otherwise

    .... I wonder if they could mod one for me...?
  15. ga_edwards

    ga_edwards

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2000
    Location:
    UK, Essex
    Yes, but not 2 inputs at the same time. A nice feature I know, but useful to some bassists who split their signal.
  16. bongomania

    bongomania Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Location:
    PDX, OR
    Disclosures:
    owner, OVNIFX and OVNILabs
    Ah OK, a mixer, you really DID mean "A + B". Gotcha. :)
  17. Rickenmonster

    Rickenmonster Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2013
    Location:
    Vancouver,B.C.

    Thanks. This clears it up for me.
  18. ga_edwards

    ga_edwards

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2000
    Location:
    UK, Essex

    Yes. Sorry, I've made a bit of a mess of this thread! But yes, a true A + B 'mix' mode would be helpful. Like I say, there are other preamp pedals than allow mixing but none that I can think of that have identical eq strips for each channel. One that did could save me 3 pedal spaces on my crowded board!
  19. Eadger

    Eadger Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    I just came across this pedal/thread and had the same question about input impedance. I emailed Providence and got the following reply:

    "Thank you for your inquiry and support for Providence products.
    The input impedance varies depends on how you use the Dual Bass Station.
    When you are only using A ch, it is 110k Ohms, 220kOhms when both A ch and B ch are used."

    Rather unfortunate...but I still may end up getting one and just running a buffer in front of it that has a 1MOhm input impedance for my upright. Anyway, just thought I'd share the knowledge for anyone else wondering.

Share This Page