1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Intonation

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by LazyGecko, Dec 2, 2013.

1. LazyGecko

LazyGecko

Hello TB I am new to the double bass and I have been learning on my own. I have been playing electric bass for a few years and have achieved an advanced level of playing on it. I do have one issue with switching to upright bass. How do I practice getting good intonation in the most efficient way possible? I have a tuner that I use during practice when I think I am playing incorrectly but is there a better way to practice? Thanks

2. powerbass

powerbass

You ask a very common question that has been addressed numerous times on TB. You can go it alone and try to develop intonation skills which will probably be frustrating or you could get a teacher who will start you off w/Simandl exercises using a bow. Using the bow and the Simandl approach you will develop intonation in a progressive, systematic way. The bow (arco) is preferable because it facilitates precise sound production and intonation (you can hear the note better) whereas pizz (plucking strings w/fingers) doesn't produce a precise enough, clear note. There aren't any short cuts if you want to play the UB w/good facility

3. SeaMist_au

SeaMist_au

+10 for a) the teacher and b) the bow. Always use a bow when working on intonation. :)

4. hdiddy

hdiddy Official Forum Flunkee Supporting Member