1. Welcome to the premier online community and classifieds for bass players!

Register a free account to post, remove lots of ads, and more!

Intro and pics of first mod/build

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by SamYoung, Feb 18, 2014.

1. SamYoung

SamYoung

Nov 27, 2013
    Massillon, OH
    I've been a long time lurker on here and decided it was about time I introduced myself. My names Sam Young, I'm 27 (as of today), and I'm a long time bass player/gear hoarder. My day job is a CNC programmer and a machinist in a protype shop so I've always loved working with my hands. Anyways, on to the first project.

About a year and a half ago, I decided that I wanted to build my first bass, but wasn't ready for a neck yet. I've always been a big fan of Warwicks so I tracked down a beatup Corvette $$ body and neck on ebay and that is where the story begins. I planed a little over .25" off the front and back of the body. I had picked up a nice piece of quilted maple earlier in the summer which I decided to bookmatch and use for the front and the back with a .030" fiber veneer from lmi for an accent line.

Once it was glued up, I put a 3/4" roundover on the whole thing and then did a little carving to get everything comfortable and to get the layers to show how I wanted. When I was doing the roundover, I splintered the top on the upper horn. I glued it back together the best I could and the sanded it down until the still damaged section was gone. I finished the body off with a few coats of tru-oil.

The neck was in pretty good shape minus some heavy fret wear in a couple spots. It got releved and all the wood got sanded back down and then finished with a few coats of Howard's feed-n-wax. When all was said and done, I finished it a year ago this week.

The specs:
    Neck: Warwick 5-string neck with solid brass nut
    Body: ash core w/ quilted maple top and back and black veneer accent
    Scale:34"
    Bridge: ABM style individual string bridges (spaced at 16.5mm)