iOS, iPhone, iPad and music 101

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Joe Nerve, Dec 28, 2012.

1. Joe Nerve

Joe Nerve Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Endorsing artist: Musicman basses, Hipshot products
    I'm starting this thread because I've gotten lost in the iOS bass player thread http://www.talkbass.com/forum/f36/i...jamup-xt-audiobus-multitrack-daw-more-941283/ .

I'm new to my iPad and don't understand 3/4 of what people are talking about in the other thread. I'm about to invite them over here in hopes that they'll share the basics, and I'm talking basics.. Some of these questions I know the answers to already, but will ask anyhow for the pure beginner.
    • What can I do with my iPad/iPhone?
    • What's the best way for me to plug my bass into my iOS device?
    • If I plan to use anything live, in a professional situation, what's the setup (interface, apps, etc).
    • Which free apps are the best?
    • Which paid apps are the best?
    • What's a good looper?
    • Why does everyone seem upset with ikmultimedia?
    • What trouble did Jimmy start?
    • If you're already using an amp live, how do amp models in an app help? I never understood this about effects.
    • In a live situation is all this stuff just for fun, or do you really feel it ups your game somehow?
    • What is available in an app for for drum loops?
    • What are the recording software choices? What's the most functional, the most user friendly, etc?
    These are just ideas of some of the questions I or others might have. Feel free to go off on your own. If I'm feeling useful enough I might cut, paste, edit and try to group the responses together for a more comprehensive thread as I'm sure this is going to get as out of control as the other thread. But if everyone tries to stick with the basics, it could be real helpful.

Have at it boys!!!! Thanks.
  2. PrietoBass

PrietoBass How does he do that? Supporting Member