Is a SVT-3 Pro a upgrade to the SVT 350/B2R?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by TUEP, Oct 2, 2013.


  1. TUEP

    TUEP

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    475
    I know its a tube preamp and only 150 watts more punchier but, I was wondering if in terms of volume and tone if it was a better amp that the SVT-350/B2R?

    Here is the thing I can dump 180 in getting my SVT-350/B2R and GK Backline 115 out of the pawn shop.

    Or I can buy a used SVT-3 Pro for $500 bucks. 500-180 = 320. So I am wondering if it is worth the upgrade for 100 extra watts and a tube pre-amp.
     
  2. JimmyM

    JimmyM Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    79,947
    Location:
    Apopka, FL
    Disclosures:
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    Of course it's an upgrade! ;) The 350 was designed to lure non-Ampeg lovers to the fold while the 3 Pro was designed for folks who love Ampeg tube amps but were willing to sacrifice some tube glory but not all.
     
  3. will33

    will33

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    17,247
    Location:
    austin,tx
    Disclosures:
    Use of this field for any other purpose is prohibited
    3Pro is a big upgrade. It's as close as you're going to get without power tubes.
     
  4. B-string

    B-string Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Messages:
    16,896
    Location:
    Lake Havasu City, Az USA
    The 350 is not that desirable and the Backline cab is an entry level cab. Go for the 3-Pro.
     
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. will33

    will33

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    17,247
    Location:
    austin,tx
    Disclosures:
    Use of this field for any other purpose is prohibited
    Didn't notice the cab part so yeah, a 3pro and a better speaker is going to be a night and day difference.
     
  7. JimmyM

    JimmyM Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    79,947
    Location:
    Apopka, FL
    Disclosures:
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    Ya, the Backline is a crap cab. GK makes some nice cabs. The Backline series ain't it. If you cheap out on anything, cheap out on the head or bass, never the cab.
     
  8. will33

    will33

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    17,247
    Location:
    austin,tx
    Disclosures:
    Use of this field for any other purpose is prohibited
    FWIW, we used to get those svt350's as backline from time to time. I guess because they were cheap and still kind of "looked the part"? I don't know but just don't use those to judge what an Ampeg can do to your sound. Most all of their other amps are way better, and not just by a little bit, more like they were made by a completely different company.
     
  9. goldenglory18

    goldenglory18 Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    692
    Location:
    SoAZ
    Disclosures:
    Your Mom.
    3Pro is a great amp. Great all around gigging mans head and one of the best DI outs you will ever use. Tone for days through FOH....!!!
     
  10. TUEP

    TUEP

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    475
    Great I am glad to hear this. What I will have to do is just cut my losses with the SVT-350 and just put that $180 towards the Ampeg SVT-3 Pro...and then just save up for a decent cab. I think patience will be pay off in the long run.
     
  11. TUEP

    TUEP

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    475
    They really are...I never want them again.
     
  12. B-string

    B-string Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Messages:
    16,896
    Location:
    Lake Havasu City, Az USA
    The Backline, GLX are more beginner cabs and serve a purpose but not when you start getting serious about playing ;)
     
  13. Alex1984

    Alex1984

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,061
    Location:
    Vancouver
    Yes, definitely a solid step up, but I'd consider a 7 pro before a 3 pro nowadays. Maybe even the PFs.
     
  14. AdamR

    AdamR Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3,281
    Location:
    Bethel CT
    Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: VF Cables, Dirtbag Clothing
    For $500 I would find a used 7 PRO
     
  15. gastric

    gastric Professional product tester for hire Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,910
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Disclosures:
    Source Audio BETA tester
    IMO a used 3Pro should be $350-$400 tops, and it better be mint without issues at that price.

    Here you go from our TB classifieds: http://www.talkbass.com/forum/f127/ampeg-svt-3-pro-super-deal-1018600/?highlight=ampeg pro

    Pay attention to any type of noise on startup or shutdown as it could be tubes or MOSFET bias issues. I'm absolutely NOT saying they all have issues, just mentioning it as I tried to buy an older 90's SLM used model and it had a noticeable decaying noise on shutdown. Come to find out the power section had an issue that was leaking voltage (or something) which was supposedly expensive to fix.

    I thought it was a great sounding amp.
     
  16. B-string

    B-string Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Messages:
    16,896
    Location:
    Lake Havasu City, Az USA
    I wouldn't buy a USED 7 Pro period.
     
  17. goldenglory18

    goldenglory18 Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    692
    Location:
    SoAZ
    Disclosures:
    Your Mom.
    Get one of the later versions. It was the early ones that had QC issues...
     
  18. B-string

    B-string Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Messages:
    16,896
    Location:
    Lake Havasu City, Az USA
    I don't think it was QC issues as much as design issues they have been working on. Class D is new to Ampeg/LOUD Tech.
     
  19. musicman666

    musicman666 Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,060
    Location:
    ca
    Ok I'll chime in here..Played a 3 pro for 15 years without a problem until I spilled a beer on it then POOF, BAM!! Great amps! Lots of flexibility in tone.
     
  20. will33

    will33

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    17,247
    Location:
    austin,tx
    Disclosures:
    Use of this field for any other purpose is prohibited
    There is the bias procedure for the 3pro either linked to or explained somewhere on this site. It is not a difficult process if you have just a very basic knowledge of messing with electronics....meaning figuring out where the test points are, reading a meter and turning a screw. I'd much rather do that than take my chances with anything but the very latest revisions of a 7pro or pf500...and maybe not even those.

    The 3pro is a good old leadsled. Been rocking for 20 years and made to be maintained so it rocks 20 more. It's not some smps, smt, d, thing built by the lowest bidding robot.;)
     
  21. TUEP

    TUEP

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    475
    Yeah I thought about the PF-500 but I am not sure because I hear there is a lot of hit and miss with its reliability.
     

Share This Page