1. Please note: We are performing several software upgrades tonight, Sept 29th. Please bear with us. You may notice some formatting issues and other bugs.

Is it worth buying a Epiphone Thunderbird?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by LowNote4003, Dec 21, 2013.

1. LowNote4003

LowNote4003

I've been eyeing up a Thunderbird for a few years now and I was wondering if it's worth buying one.

Are there any pros and cons with this bass and if you own one what do you like about it?

2. ZenG

ZenG

From everything I've read elsewhere.....

Run as fast you can....in the opposite direction.

3. wvbass

wvbass Supporting Member

Don't know what that guy is talking about. Ergonomics are different. They balance differently and just sit a little differently on a strap than a Fender. Some like them, some don't.

I like both of my Epi birds just fine.

4. BIGEJ2

BIGEJ2 Supporting Member

The Classic Pro model is very good. Standard bolt-on is okay. No reason to run from them.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. JennySuzuki

JennySuzuki

The last time I went to a guitar center, I noodled around with one. I'd read a review saying that the pro model was one of the ten best guitars under 300 pounds sterling, and I was curious. I ended up not liking the ergonomics of it. In my opinion, it was too neck heavy.

On the other hand, I did like the Epiphone EB-3, though a luthier friend of mine talked me into getting a Gretsch Junior Jet II in the end, instead.

Bottom line, pick one up, noodle with it a bit. If you like it, great; if you don't, also great.

7. ack

ack Supporting Member

Well, I was given a brand new Epi T'bird IV for Christmas a few years back because I was caught jonesing for one in a catalog.
    I have tried to love it...hell, I've even tried to like it.
    I might dislike everything about it this bass, except the sentiment that brought it to me.

I do like one thing about it: the tone when I blend 50% neck and 100% bridge pickup is pretty nasty.