Is My EMG P Bass Pickup Active or Passive?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Ampig, Dec 2, 2013.


  1. Ampig

    Ampig Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2000
    Location:
    Newport News, Virginia
    Just bought a used EMG P pickup. The seller said it was passive. I have my doubts. On the back of one pickup coil is a label that says "IG". EMG is printed on the covers. The back sides are filled with black epoxy. The output wires are a single unshieled red and a larger shielded white. The same larger unshielded white wire connects the two pick coils.
  2. Mtnman

    Mtnman

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Does the bass have a battery?
  3. Ampig

    Ampig Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2000
    Location:
    Newport News, Virginia
    No. It's a stock P. I bought the pickup to install as an upgrade.
  4. Tomkat8

    Tomkat8 Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Location:
    Chicago/nw indiana
    I'm pretty sure it's active. Sounds like from the description that it's a older one before the quick connectors. The red wire is the positive for the power supply. Check the emg website for wiring instructions. Prob have to change the pots to 25 k too, Check for info on the web.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. mmbongo

    mmbongo Chicken Pot Pie. My three favorite things!! Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Location:
    Upstate, South Carolina
    Red wire is for the battery, so it's active.
  7. Ampig

    Ampig Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2000
    Location:
    Newport News, Virginia
    Thanks for the confirmation guys
    If I decide to install this "active" pickup, do I need to disconnect the bridge ground wire?
  8. Tomkat8

    Tomkat8 Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Location:
    Chicago/nw indiana
    Emg's don't require a ground wire to the bridge , not sure what would happen if you leave it connected.
  9. bassgod0dmw

    bassgod0dmw Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Location:
    White Plains
    You're going to want 25k pots rather than the stock 250k that come in your bass.
  10. Ampig

    Ampig Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2000
    Location:
    Newport News, Virginia
    25K on both the volume and treble pots? Can I still use the stock capacitor?
    Anybody got some 25K pots?
  11. grendle

    grendle Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Location:
    Central FL
    Yep all std Emg's are active and you will want 25k pots. Not sure about the cap as I don't use one. Look on the bay for Emg pots someone is always selling the ones they come with. If not you can solder a resistor in and make your 250k's 25k if your handy.

Share This Page