1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Is the Ibanez bass I want a good addition to the ones I got?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by H3R3T1K, Apr 10, 2014.

1. H3R3T1K

H3R3T1K

I'm a student and I allocate pretty much all my cash which comes in irregularly to basses and gear. Next month is my birthday and I been saving up for a new bass. I can't spend 1000€ or more. But that's why I want your opinion on the new gear.

I started playing on a 260€-Yamaha-PJ bass which plays suprisingly well (lightweight, no sharp edges and a fast neck but too slim for my big hands):

[​IMG]

So I swapped the PUs with Tonerider-ones and removed the middle blend pot to put in a 3-way toggle switch.

I then got a 5-string (Ibanez SR705-TK) for 730€ which I hardly use because what I play doesn't need the B and so I never got used to it. I plays great though and I will eventually play it more often.

[​IMG]

I then felt like another 4-string which would be different to the one I got. I like the Fender J- and P-basses and since I knew what the P sounds like I was ready for a Jazz-bass. I got a Squier VM Jazz for 298€. I dind't have the cash for a more expensive Jazz-bass and I thought it would be OK because I didn't know if I would like the sound. I love the look of the instrument. I wanted to try the feel of the maple fretboard and I thought the maple body is something cool.

I swapped the pickups for Tonerider ones and replaced the electronics with quality parts. Also got some cheap Chinese Jazz-bass-knobs for it.

[​IMG]

So that's where I am right now. Lately I've been GASing for this one:

Ibanez ATK800-WNF (700€)

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]