1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Is the new amp I got broken or are they all like this?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by EstusFlask, Mar 21, 2014.

1. EstusFlask

EstusFlask

Hi, I'm new to TB and professional bass equipment in general, and need some help determining if I need to return my amp for a new one.

I have been playing on an old Behringer 60w combo forever and decided it was time to upgrade. I bought a used Eden D210XST locally and a mint used Markbass Little Mark Tube from Music123.

I've been playing for half a month and really love the sound, but today, home alone with no noise or my computer fans running, I heard noise coming from my cab when I turned on the amp. I unplugged everything and moved everything away from the setup so it is just the amp, cab, and speakon cable connecting them, and turned on the amp (no bass plugged in). When i turn up the master volume, the noise (like white noise or wushing air or something, not a buzz) increased.

I then realized that the second combo input's gain was turned up to max (i never use that second input). Not sure when that happened but I turned it down and the noise reduced considerably.

But now I know that noise is there...Even with the seconary gain all the way down, with my main gain and master both at noon, I can hear the noise if I get close to the speaker and it gets louder if I turn the master up.

Is this normal or do I have a bad amp...

2. lowfreqgeek

lowfreqgeek Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: Regenerate Guitar Works
    A) It's normal - especially with tweeters.

B) You're not going to have your head near the cab in practice. If you only play at home, you'll notice it more, but if you're on a gig, it won't be audible.

3. EstusFlask

EstusFlask

Yeah it is only at home, I don't gig.