Is this normal? - complete beginner

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by willbearr, Jan 7, 2013.

1. willbearr

willbearr

Hey guys,

picked up my first bass last week and making great progress but one thing is really really digging at me..

When I fret any string, anywhere, the note plays loudly. I have no idea if this is normal or if that makes sense. But for example, if I was to play C on the A string, the note will play twice. Once when I fret it and again when I pluck. Even if I depress the string and pluck at the exact same time it is just replaced with a loud clank. I therefore get a sort of echo with every note.

I know I'm a complete newbie but I cant really pinpoint this to technique as even if I fret the string at the pace of a snail who lives in the attic of a coffee shop it still happens. I can literally take 10 seconds to gradually fret the string and the note will still chime away.

This could be completely normal I guess but I really don't know, I'm a complete stranger to stringed instruments!! So don't make fun :spit:

2. Hobobob74

Hobobob74

Its normal, lol.

It will come with time and practice, you will soon be able to fret and pluck fast enough that it will eliminate the two sounds you hear into one smooth one

Congrats on joining the Bass world!

3. willbearr

willbearr

Many thanks good sir!

4. sikamikanico

sikamikanico Supporting Member

I honestly had to grab my bass to figure out how I play... and while it looks like I do fret the string pretty much at the same time as I pluck it, I had to try really hard to make a loud sound with my fretting finger...

i think you will be able to solve the mystery (issue) sooner if you work with another bassist on this... one thing you might try is keeping your fretting fingers on the strings at all times (lightly), to mute the strings and to avoid excessive hammering of the strings when you fret them...

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. willbearr

willbearr