Is this normal?

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by jmattbassplaya, Jan 31, 2014.

1. jmattbassplaya

jmattbassplaya

I recently started my first big boy job, and tonight marks the 11th day, in a row, that I have had to work, with all of these days requiring a 10+ hour long shift. To make things better, I have to work straight through this weekend as well, and I likely won't get a day off until next Saturday.

Tonight I came home, poured my whiskey straight into the glass, and drank the whole thing without a single grimace, which is something I have never done before despite several years of training throughout college.

My question is this --- is this what being a man feels like?

2. MJ5150

MJ5150 Terrific Twister Supporting Member

Media:
    Albums:
    Sometimes, yes.

-Mike

3. JennySuzuki

JennySuzuki

I hope you're getting the legally mandated time and a half for all those overtime hours.

4. jmattbassplaya

jmattbassplaya

Nope. I'm a salaried employee so I work what I gotta work. My associates will make double pay this Sunday when they work though, which is pretty much exactly what I make without having to get a 4 year degree :atoz:

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. lowfreq33

lowfreq33

Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: Genz Benz Amplification
    No company will ever put you on salary unless it benefits them to do so. Many years ago I was a line cook for a big restaurant chain. One of my coworkers was going into management, and upon receiving his first check he figured out that given the hours he was now required to work each week he was actually making minimum wage. Welcome to the real world.

7. jmattbassplaya

jmattbassplaya