1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Is this possible, or am I being scammed?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by eukatheude, Apr 1, 2014.


  1. eukatheude

    eukatheude

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    Location:
    Italy, Brescia
    I've put my eyes on an used Kustom DE 300 HD head. The asking price is right. The guy states in the ad that sometimes volume cuts out for a second or two, and says the fault is in the old, "tired" preamp tube. Since a new tube isn't much money, and what i'm reading of this head so far is convincing me, I'd quite inclined to splurge. However I think it's best to check with you folks! Could it really be just the tube or it could be a symptom of something far more troublesome? I contacted the guy for more info and I'm to call him this evening, is there anything specific you think I should ask about?
     
  2. CL400Peavey

    CL400Peavey Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Location:
    Grand Rapids Michigan
    I would avoid that amp. YMMV
     
  3. lfmn16

    lfmn16 Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Location:
    charles town, wv
    Disclosures:
    I'm a Fuzzrocious-aholic. It's been one week since I bought my last Fuzzrocious pedal.
    If it is a cheap easy fix, why doesn't he do it himself? I would pass because I don't know enough about amps to take a chance.
     
  4. eukatheude

    eukatheude

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    Location:
    Italy, Brescia
    I know a bit about electronics and I'd be able to swap out components if need be. But I've never worked on an amp before and I don't feel like taking chances either. I'm curious though, and I want to know what does he have to say on the matter.
     
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Dave W

    Dave W Previously bassgod0dmw Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Location:
    White Plains
    Yes, absolutely.
     
  7. Downunderwonder

    Downunderwonder

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Can't be too much wrong or it would be dead.
     
  8. BurningSkies

    BurningSkies CRAZY BALDHEAD Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Location:
    Seweracuse, NY
    That's not a symptom of 'tube failure' there's something else going on.
     
  9. eukatheude

    eukatheude

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    Location:
    Italy, Brescia
    Thanks. I may be able to talk him down significantly on the price with this in mind. He's asking for 150 euros btw, but if I can snag it for cheap it's a deal. Even if I have to fix it.
     
  10. MrLenny1

    MrLenny1 Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Location:
    N.H.
    If I were selling an amp with a simple fix issue I would certainly fix it
    before listing it.
    Buyer beware.
     
  11. Feral Feline

    Feral Feline Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Location:
    Honky Kong, ShangriLamma
    Save your dosh and spend it towards a good cab. ;)
     
  12. Downunderwonder

    Downunderwonder

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Not much discount on a new one from Thommann. At 16kg it should be an oldschool amp and fixable but you want a far better price.
     
  13. eukatheude

    eukatheude

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    Location:
    Italy, Brescia
    I should add he states on the ad that, when the volume cuts out, the line output is still stable.
    Which doesn't sound right to me. If the problem is the tube (and assuming he's running the line out post-eq), how can the line out be stable? Maybe the issue is in the power section.
    Best way to check would be playing it through the power amp in / FX loop.

    Well it's 100 euro less. And he says no haggling. But I'm gonna haggle anyway.

    Heh. I want both a new amp and a new cab. If I buy this or any other amp, I can also sell my Ashdown combo for at least 200-250 and have more to invest in the cab.
     
  14. Zooberwerx

    Zooberwerx Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    This is true. Riis's Rule of All Things Electrical and/or Mechanical: @#$& that's truly broken doesn't repair itself.

    Offer him a fraction of the asking price with the knowledge that the problem may reside elsewhere and bench fees are not cheap.

    Riis
     
  15. Downunderwonder

    Downunderwonder

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Location:
    New Zealand
    You're onto it. If it's SMD boards you can give it away. If it's oldschool circuits a tech can probably fix it, accent on probably, so the price needs to reflect that. Mucho cheaper.
     
  16. eukatheude

    eukatheude

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    Location:
    Italy, Brescia
    I'd try to repair it myself if it dies. Always wanted to learn about amp repair.
    I doubt it's SMD but I'm sending a mail to Kustom to double check.



    I checked the owner's manual and that confirms my suspicion about the tube: http://www.kustom.com/Content/20103/DE300HD-OwnersManual-RevA_Final_31MAR2009ra.pdf page 9
    If the tube is faulty, why isn't the line out affected too? Doesn't matter if he runs it pre/post EQ as the tube is always involved.
     
  17. username1

    username1 Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Location:
    alberta canada
    If it were just a simple fix like changing a tube I'm sure he would have done it already to get the best price from the amp. I think he's getting rid of it because of the problem.
     
  18. Downunderwonder

    Downunderwonder

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Location:
    New Zealand
    As I said, you're onto it, meaning you are correct, the power stage is corrupting.
     
  19. eukatheude

    eukatheude

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    Location:
    Italy, Brescia
    Yep. This however deprives him of the benefit of the doubt (if he was running the line out pre eq, and the tube was out of the circuit, it was still a possibility that the tube was malfunctioning).
    What do you mean by corrupting? Is it a general term for malfunctioning or you mean something specific?
     
  20. Downunderwonder

    Downunderwonder

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Cutting out.

    Over and out.
     
  21. Steve Dallman

    Steve Dallman

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Location:
    East Central Wisconsin
    Before I retired as an amp tech, I fixed amps for a Kustom dealer. Most repairs were store stock and turned out to be poorly seated ribbon cables. While I've never worked on one of these heads, I would assume it is something as simple as a tube reseat, cable reseat or tube change. I felt Kustom's designs were great but the construction is a bit under-robust.
     

Share This Page