Is this worth repairing? Total newbie..

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by saeroner, Dec 18, 2013.

1. saeroner

saeroner

Never repaired anything but the strings on a bass. My Uncle gave me this POS and I thought it might be cool to try and repair it to gain some knowledge about the instrument. Not sure if it's worth it.

I own a fender j-bass and have only been practicing that for 2 years.

Would replacing the pickups, insert, strings maybe bridge be worth it? I was thinking it might be a fun project but i've never done anything like this. I watched a few videos on Bass Guitar setup on youtube. Seems cool.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. skot71

skot71 Guest

Can't see the pics. Any more details?

3. javadog

javadog Supporting Member

Maybe and maybe not. First off, is the body, neck and fingerboard wood in decent shape or just cheap junk. I would
    have someone experienced with instrument repair to look at the neck to see if it is warped or if it can be adjusted to playable condition. See if you can adjust the truss rod to get
    the neck close to flat. The neck, body and fingerboard will need cleaning. You can use electronics cleaner/lubricant on the pots if they are scratchy. I would get some new strings for the fender and put your old strings on the POS. Don't put very much money it it, it will probably still be a POS after you have worked on it, just less of one than when you started. Have an idea how much you are willing to spend on it and don't let it become a bottomless pit you are throwing money into to replace and upgrade a lot of parts. I did this once with a junker I bought for $50 to make a beater/practice/travel bass that I could throw in the car and not care if it got stolen. It will be good for educational purposes and if you mess it up you have not lost much like you would if you buggered up your good instrument.

4. saeroner

saeroner

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. lundborg

lundborg