Is transitioning from fretted to a fretless hard?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by aasti3000, Feb 2, 2013.

1. aasti3000

aasti3000 Supporting Member

I've been playing for 7 months and really LOVE playing bass. But I'm starting to get attracted to the fretless SOUND but for some reason the fretless intimidates me. I think I'm afraid I'll be playing wrong notes since their are no frets. I tested a fretless with lines on it and I sounded a complete mess.

Is it a whole new ball game learning fretless or do I need to get the fretted bass down to a science before considering a fretless?

2. mntngrown

mntngrown Supporting Member

A lot of people learn on fretless. AKA standup. Bob Babbit maybe. Jamerson too? If you want to go there start sooner than later. Frets allow you to be lazy. A lined fretless gives you training wheels, and early confidence.

3. bass5str

bass5str

hi aasti3000,

if i had to do it over again i would jump in the fretless deep end. far too many years ago when i started playing i was too intimidated to give it a shot even tho i wanted to :atoz:

now i am predominantly a fretless player. i would not say it is a new game. just a different one with less rules and more freedom!

if you choose to give it a shot i would suggest not getting one with fretlines. your ear and muscle memory will kick in soon enough.

4. RxFunk

RxFunk

Sometimes the lines on a lined fretless are a little bit off, which may be why you sounded "messy". I agree with the previous post that a lines on a fretless are like training wheels ,I used to play cello and we always put little stickers on our fingerboards when we first started, so you could always do that until you get the feel down for where the notes are on the board.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. nad

nad 60 Cycle Humdinger

Disclosures:
    Various C-titles: Nordstrand Pickups
    I tend to approach fretless basses quite differently than fretted.