1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Jazz training

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Zorth41, Jan 3, 2014.

1. Zorth41

Zorth41

I have been playing bass for about 2 years now and really want to learn more about jazz bass playing, where would i start? Is there any excercise anyone knows about?

2. elgecko

elgecko

3. BassChuck

BassChuck Supporting Member

The link above is as good as it gets. Jamie gives a free book about jazz. It's a goldmine of information. Tons of great stuff. Give it some serious thought.

4. Zorth41

Zorth41

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. groooooove

groooooove Supporting Member

1. listen to ALL styles of jazz- from fats waller, to charlie parker, to miles davis, weather report, robert glasper, and all points in between.

2. get a good teacher.

3. good luck!

sort of kidding, but in reality, thats the only way. going through method books can only do so much.

7. markjsmithbass

markjsmithbass Supporting Member

It's never just a simple case of learning the style. With Jazz especially, you really need to listen to it in just the way you would any other style you like. Depending on the kind of music you listen to or like at the moment there'll be different ways into it. If you're a rocker then more modern fusion stuff from 70s onwards might be the way. At some point it's worth seeking out jazz from every period from dixieland and blues of the early 20th century through swing, bebop, cool jazz and free jazz. Eventually you'll find the bits you really like and at least discover whether you really want to learn how to play jazz.