Jimmy Garrison

Discussion in 'Bassists [DB]' started by Alan Vorse, Mar 7, 2007.

1. Alan Vorse

Alan Vorse

I have been working with a saxophonist who loves Coltrane and wants to do a number of his tunes. I've been listening to Coltrane for years, but this the first time I have focused on the bass playing in his music since I started playing DB 6 months ago.

I really like Jimmy Garrison's playing. I think he has a distinct voice on the instrument. I'm wondering why the rest of the Classic Quartet are viewed as giants (and rightfully so) and Garrison is almost an after-thought. When the great jazz double bassists are mentioned, he either isn't discussed or not mentioned until after a long list of notables.

So why is this? Is he not as great as I think? Am I too green of a DB player to be hear something that is or isn't in his playing?

Interested in your thoughts on this.
  2. Marc Piane

Marc Piane

I really dig him too. I think in recent years he has started to receive more recognition.

The reason his is not on the tip of peoples tongues when great bassist are mentioned is due in part to his role in that group in my opinion. Everybody else had such dense styles that his role was almost always in support. He doesn't have many solos on the studio recordings either. I just picked up the Trane:Live the Europe box set. He has some really great solos on there. A must own for a Coltrane fan.

This all really boils down to why he is one of my favorites. He was in the 'eye of the storm'. He was the glue. For me he is the quintessential bass player. Huge tone, great time, groove, great supportive ideas.

I need coffee.
  3. musicman5string

musicman5string

To me the key to the classic Coltrane Quartet was Garrison. There's a reason why Trane replace Reggie Workman (who obviously was a great bassist). I think it has alot to do with Jimmy Garrison's feel; he played so earthy... unselfishly supporting the band, playing simple lines with a huge woody sound.