Just bought my 4th bass --- now I want a 5th!

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by rydin4lifebass, Jan 14, 2014.

1. rydin4lifebass

rydin4lifebass

I started playing a few years ago with a precision bass that was part of a bass/amp combo deal. I still have it and keep it as my "go to" bass when I just want to work on something sitting in front of the computer or noodling on the couch, etc. I also have an Ibanez SRX300 tuned BEAD for some heavier stuff (Marilyn Manson, Rob Zombie, etc.) and an Ibanez SR300 that I picked up used from Craigslist. I just picked up my fourth bass from the TB classifieds last week, a Fender FSR Jazz strung with TI Jazz Flats. Even though I'm just a "hobbyist", I'm now drawn to a fifth bass, a Squier Affinity Jazz. I played one at a local shop and the tone was just raw and crunchy and just completely different than the other four basses I have. I've certainly not paid a lot for the four basses I have and most of you have one bass worth more than all four of mine combined, yet I'm still drawn to adding a fifth one to my inventory. Of course, I think this is a stupid notion and I should just save money for something "nicer" like an American Fender or a nice MusicMan but I just don't have a desire for something like that, nor anything more higher-end. Is this just another case of GAS or my OCD, or some other acronym, or should I really consider adding another bass to the collection.
  2. Marko5657

Marko5657 Supporting Member

I’m happier with a few mid-priced basses over expensive ones , because I’m more comfortable with them, I enjoy a bit of variety, and it doesn’t amount to a ton of money.
    A few years ago I bought a Squier Affinity Jazz V from on line and it’s just fine; I even gigged it a couple times right out of the box. At least you’ll play it before you buy it to be sure.
  3. rydin4lifebass

rydin4lifebass