Just can't win (It is hard being a bass playing drummer)

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by WookieeDck, Jan 27, 2014.

1. WookieeDck

WookieeDck

Hey everyone so the story goes like this:

I've been a drummer for almost 8 years now. Last year I decided to pick up the bass, the reasoning behind this decision at first was because of how seemingly impossible it is to find a decent bass player let alone someone that would push me to become a better drummer and then after I made the decision I found out that I truly love playing bass.

So I pulled out an old Yamaha bass I had laying around and picked up Rocksmith which for me at least has been a great tool/ learning method. I quickly saw progress in my ability to play bass and figured that it would be a good idea to start jamming with other musicians. :bassist: Its fine to sit in a room and run scales, study theory and techniques but there is nothing like being in a room with musicians and music just happening.

This is where my trouble began. :meh: I posted on my local craigslist that I was seeking a drummer / guitar player to jam with I got tons of emails back "Musicians" aren't hard to find in southern California. But after months and 20+ sessions I realized that there is a difference between a guy who just hits drums and a drummer, or a guy who strums a guitar and a guitarist. Not everyone who picks up an instrument has the intention, ability, or maybe just the drive to go from guy strumming and hitting things to a well rounded musician.

So I adjusted my ad to make it clear I want other players who are interested in expanding and improving their playing and found a few more places to post it online, even leaving the ad on the Guitar center/ Sam ash wanted boards and I keep running into the same caliber of players.