1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Just something about a nice Jazz bass...

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by rickr, Nov 10, 2012.

1. rickr

rickr Supporting Member

I have been playing high end basses for about 12 years now.....Pretty much anything you can name.
    I have always liked the idea of jazz basses but have always found then hit or miss as far as fenders go. Earlier this year I bought a Fender american standard from a fellow talkbass member. This bass played great and I quickly became "use" to it. After a couple of months I sold the bass to get another boutique bass as usual. When the new bass came it just didnt feel right....not like they use to. So I quickly traded that one for another boutique bass that I always loved in the past. Again, it didnt feel quite right. I offered that bass up for trade and was offered a Mike Lull MV4. I had not tried a Lull and figured what the heck.
    This bass is amazing! It just feels natural. weighs less than 8 lbs and the playability is better than many of my ultra high end basses from the past.
    I think I have made the crossover to Jazz basses...... looks like Im gonna have to try a Sadowsky now too.........;)

2. Jimmy Stump

Jimmy Stump

Same. Owned several Fender jazzes which I liked but never loved. Tried a couple of Sadowsky's which didnt quite do it for me. Played a Lull M4V and everything changed. Definitely a high quality jazz. What does yours have in it? Mine has an Aguilar OBP-3 and Fralin hum cancelling pickups.

3. Nofrettin

Nofrettin Supporting Member

Same. For me it's an Fbass Vf5. I love it, and I'm never letting it go. There's something in the sound of a jazz bass that I've been missing and not even knowing I was missing.

4. prd004

prd004

M4V is my all time favorite bass! It just works for any style