keeping tempo

Discussion in 'Music Theory [DB]' started by saltydog, Sep 30, 2012.

1. saltydog

saltydog

I am fairly new to playing out of the basement in a real gig, and had a great time at a recent gig...even if it was at 9AM in the morning. But I did come away with one concern that I'm hoping someone can give me some advice on.
    There were several times when I felt the tempo of the song we were playing slowed down as we went along. One of the tunes, Sweet Georgia Brown, was especially noticeable as it started out at a really nice blistering pace, but slowed quite a bit about half way through.
    I tried to pick things up, but was afraid of getting totally "off beat" with the drummer. Who's job is keeping the tempo, the bass or the drummer? (the drummer was also new to playing in a group) I'd like to think my sense of tempo is OK and it was all the drummer; but no matter who's having the bad day, the main point is how is this situation handled during the tune by more experienced players?
    Thanks

2. Michael Eisenman

Michael Eisenman Supporting Member

Bass is the timekeeper. On my first gig with the big band, the drummer told me so, along with "I'm gonna put down four on the floor until you get the hang of it, and then I'll get to do my thing."

I recorded the first gig, and when I listened to it I thought, "Man, those horns are dragging", but as I listened closer, it was I who was slowing down--kind of not being all the way through the string on the beat. Enlightening.

After that, I made an effort to not let it drag, to the extent that it felt like I was pushing it. That's what it took. I even used a visual metronome a few times so I could match the feel to the true tempo. Occasionally the drummer might say something to me during a song--or I to him--and we work together to adjust the tempo. Sometimes the director starts the song too fast or too slow, but we're really in charge.