Keyboard player stepping all over guitar and bass?? What to do?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by jaysbass2002, Apr 7, 2014.

1. jaysbass2002

jaysbass2002 Supporting Member

I have been working in a four piece band for around 8 months now. We gel very well and get great feedback from our followers.
    But here is my concern. Our keyboard player uses 3 keyboards live. Korg triton, Korg Karma, and a nice digital piano. The sound levels are never consistent, "one sound ripping your head off and the next can't hear him" Some of the sounds he uses interact with my bass tone and get this horrible cycling, mushy sound on stage. Hard to hear my own rig.:rolleyes: He also plays all of the time. Just can't sit back and harmonize "though he does have a great voice". Has to be throwing something in even if it is not there to begin with. We have a great guitar player. He plays the hell out of Stevie Ray Vaughn material, but our keyboard player plays the chugging guitar licks and such???? Instead of just playing the Hammond parts? We were knocking out twilight zone the other night, and when it came to the cool bass part in the middle he jumped right in with this cheesy synth sound and took the wind out of my sails!:mad:
    So to wrap up all my complaining, how do I approach this issue? I give him tones of solo parts to trade off with guitar player and he still indulges where "I think" he should sit back and coast.

Help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  2. tangentmusic

tangentmusic A figment of our exaggeration Supporting Member

Become a 3 piece.
  3. jaysbass2002

Already thought of that. He is a great guy, but does not get subtle hints. I have tried but goes unheard.:rolleyes: He is also best friends with the drummer.
  4. vishuddha

vishuddha 100% Mediocre Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Drum Sales - Guitar Center
    +1

Doesn't sound like he is adding much to the mix.
  5. jaysbass2002