Kindergarten presentation

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by was3funk, Nov 19, 2013.

1. was3funk

was3funk

Anyone have any input or ideas for a bass guitar kindergarten presentation? I was asked to talk about what I do and present some music for the kids, about 20 minutes or so.

I don't really do solo bass ala Wooten no fx or loopers, I'm a supporting bassist similiar to Jamerson, Dunn, Rainey and others.

Does anyone have experience with this age group 5-6years old?

Thanks very much!

2. senp5f

senp5f

If it were me I would take an acoustic guitar along, too, and play and sing them a song it, and then show them how the bass is lower and different. Or maybe take some kind of recording with and without bass, preferably one that is very danceable. I think they will need some context in order to get the concept of a supporting instrument that is one piece in a larger sound. You will need to start off with an idea they know, like "music" or "guitar" and then modify it show the concept of bass.

Also, if you can make the bass make either farting sounds or farm animal sounds, that would probably go over well.

3. the_stone

the_stone

Do you sing? If so, you could always talk about how the bass helps to shape the sound of the music. You could sing (or have them sing) something like "Twinkle Twinkle Little Star" and play different styles of basslines underneath.

Or you could talk about opposites in music - play high, then low, fast, then slow, loud, then soft. There's a local music non-profit in Fort Worth that does educational presentations for schoolkids, and that's a big part (when they go to elementary schools).

4. hrodbert696

hrodbert696 Supporting Member

I'd definitely say to play simple songs that they would know - +1 to twinkle twinkle, also the Wheels on the Bus, Itsy Bitsy Spider, If You're Happy and You Know It.

Kids love participation - let them try touching the bass, or hand out percussion, or at least have them clap along.