1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is now updated and should work after you upgrade. TalkBass is responsive to any screen size, so we recommend using your mobile browser for full functionality.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Korn-Fieldy's technique

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by spectorbass83, Jun 6, 2005.

1. spectorbass83

spectorbass83

Hi everyone, I am new to Talkbass.com. I have been playing bass for about 5 years now and the other day my band decided to cover "Got The Life" by Korn. I never was into Korn too much. How the hell does Fieldy get the sound we hear? Any Korn fans out there that can help me? Does Fieldy use any kinds of effects? How does he get that clicking sound (besides the fact that his 5-string is tuned down 1 whole step)? Any help would be greatly appreciated! :D
  2. 7Stringer

7Stringer

Please do a search on the forum, we have beat this subject to death :)

:: honkers down for the Fieldy flame war ::
  3. embellisher

embellisher Holy Ghost filled Bass Player Supporting Member

Boost your lows, cut your mids all the way, boost your highs all the way, and make sure your cab has a tweeter. Turn the tweeter all the way up too.
  4. sotua

sotua

Tune down. Loose string click easier.

Put a smiley in your eq. Boost the highs, drop the mids, boost the lows. And then boost the highs. And push that "bright" switch in your amp if it has one.

Play aggressive. Really dig into those strings. Try to force the strings to hit the fretboard (quasi-slapping). Low action would be nice for this. Pretend that you are an alcoholic monkey that doesn't know how to play bass, and spank that bass.