Koussevitzky fingering

Discussion in 'Orchestral Technique [DB]' started by Lbernardes, Dec 29, 2012.

1. Lbernardes

Lbernardes

Hi everyone, i'm currently learning the Koussevitzky concerto and i'd like to know your opinions on fingering.
    I took Gary Karr's video as an example, but i cant quite see what he is actually doing

Around 6:02 - 6:07, what fingering could this possibly be? I was using my third finger in some parts in order not to shift so much but it was pretty tiresome and i couldn't get confortable,so to speak...can you guys give me any hints please?

Thanks! Lucas
  2. MartinBorgen

MartinBorgen

Whatever fingering it is, it's not necessarily the one that works for you best, just because it worked for Gary Karr. ;)
  3. Lbernardes

Lbernardes

Oh sure ,i am aware of that. The video was just some sort of reference actually...i'm just very new to thumb position and bass in general to be honest haha
  4. Adam Attard

Adam Attard

I'd strongly suggest expanding your horizons for examples of performances of this from just Gary Karr (Rinat Ibragimov's version comes to mind, among others.).

As for that fingering, I've used 2 and 3 for the upper part of the double stops (not quite sure what else would work...), and any fingering combination you try, it always seems to feel uncomfortable at first. But regardless of what you see in any YouTube video, whatever feels comfortable to you over time is always the best option, as the previous poster said.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. neilG

neilG

Exercise that third finger, you're going to need it.
  7. Adam Attard

Adam Attard

+1
    No pain, no gain.
  8. Lbernardes

Lbernardes

Yeah, I think the problem was the third finger indeed, it felt really difficult the transition from thumb to third finger at such speed and still pay attention to the bowings! Thanks for sharing your thoughts, i appreciate it.
  9. Les Fret

Les Fret