Krist Novoselic bass tone?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by mattbmw101, Nov 23, 2012.

1. mattbmw101

mattbmw101

Hey guys my name is Matt and I'm 16 years old. As you can probably see I am a new member here. I started to play the bass a little while ago (influenced by Nirvana), and have so far been just using my dads equipment, but would like to purchase some of my own now.

I really want to get a sound like Krist Novoselic from Nirvana. Here are some clips of what I think it would be cool to sound like:

you get the idea... that "bung bung bong" sound.

The equipment I am using right now is the following:
    fender american P-bass.
    ernie ball slinky strings (I think).
    med-heavy pick.
    no effects pedals.
    fender 75 watt rumble amp.

So, as I am still a newbie to bass playing, could anyone tell me what equipment I should get, or if any of it is fine already? I have quite a bit of money saved up finally and am ready to purchase some stuff.

The only thing I know that Krist used in his nirvana days was a gibson thunderbird bass for sure, and they look pretty cool, so I guess I could get one of those.

Sorry if I posted in the wrong thread, feel free to move it if you want.

Thanks,

Matt.

2. SirMjac28

SirMjac28 Patiently Waiting For The Next British Invasion Gold Supporting Member

I think his bass sound is pretty straightforward I think the cheapest way would be to get a Tech 21 VT Bass or a Sansamp you don't need that Thunderbird unless you just like that particular bass.

3. MRDOOM

MRDOOM

No need to go Gibson. (unless you really want to) Epiphone just came out with a (from what I've heard) great copy for a fraction of the price.

4. bassguitarthund

bassguitarthund

Yup Epi Thunderbird Classic Pro!! I am thinking of getting one!!!

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. mattbmw101

mattbmw101

7. TBird1958

TBird1958 As a matter of fact....I am your Queen! Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist Mike Lull T Bass pickups