1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

La bella 6 string flatwounds, tapping, slap, fingerstyle

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by olko, Nov 18, 2012.

1. olko

olko

2. Bassist4Eris

Bassist4Eris Non Serviam Supporting Member

IMHO, flatwound strings and slapping do not mix. (Yes, I know Larry Graham used flats with Sly Stone, but that's about all they had back then.) I'm not an expert on metal, but I would think you'd want a little more top end for that too. Flats are very dark and mellow sounding, more like blues or motown.
  3. olko

olko

I play prog so its like Dream Theater, and im not sure if flats would sound good in band, i thought high end could be EQ'd but am not sure, im hoping that someone who plays this kind of music and could tell me if i shold or shouldnt get em.

But htanks for reply :)
  4. CnB77

CnB77

I would use roundwounds personally
  5. olko

olko

so you think flatwounds would have been wrong choice?
  6. RoeyHaviv

RoeyHaviv

Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: Vigier guitars, Pigtronix Effects
    If you do switch to flats - the LaBella's are my favorits.
    Flatwound strings are cool, and I like the thump they have when slapped, but for metal... they would be too muddy.

Try the "Super Steps" roundwounds, Specially if you tap.
  7. olko

olko