1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

La Bella FL 760 FL G-String Help!

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by TredH20, Aug 4, 2013.

1. TredH20

TredH20

Hi everyone -

Looking for some guidance. I'm new to the world of flat wounds after 20 years of playing and re-stringing basses. I just had a new fretless Stingray 4 delivered. I've swapped out the stock EB round wounds with LaBella 760FLs, long scales. Everything but the G-string. I keep running out of silk wrap with the G-string- I've tried installing two separate LaBella strings ( the original that came with the set and a separate replacement).

The first string ended up running out of wrap and slipping on the tuner and I could feel the core slip away. The second is well on its way to doing the same thing. I even kept the second G-string long on purpose just in case I had cut the first too short ( a little longer than stock EB string). But again running out of wrap before anywhere near being in tune. At this point I've cut the string down too much.

Is this an issue of scale being off? Stingrays are 34 inch scale so match up with LaBellas definition of long scale. Does the tuner position for an EBMM G-string throw the scale off? Ive got the stock EB G-string on now...but would like to get a flat wound on there...but at $10 a pop for replacements...it's an expensive learning curve!

2. Mojo-Man

Mojo-Man Supporting Member

:cool:

I had a G-string break while tuning for the first time.
    Only string that ever broke in 30 years of playing.
    I call La Bella they sent me a new set free.
    Thats quality control.

3. TredH20

TredH20