Lab Series L2

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by natasmi, Jun 24, 2002.

1. natasmi

natasmi

Hi,I come here every now and then and I gotta say you all have some fine bass amps. The thing is I have used the same amp ever since I started playing, "79" Lab Series L2 100 watt bass head with a "79" fender 15 bass cab loaded w/ a black widow. Am I the only one who uses one of these? I have played through other amps but never thought I needed a new one. Great tone, and it has never had a single problem.I can't have the only one left standing, can I?
  2. mmarshall

mmarshall

I have an L4 (200 watt):) I use it as a back up amp to my two 700 watt amps. They are good amps for solid state.
  3. Blue

Blue

... if I may be bold - those Lab Series designs are Really Toneful, and readily repairable. The only hard-to find part is the power switch, which is still available, but not though Mouser.

fwiw, my Lab Series 2, with very rare original cab plus an auxiliary (homemade) cab sporting a EV-15B, plus the hard to find original manual - are all going up for sale.

While the back of the amp lists 8 ohm minmum load, according to the hard to find original manual - which I have - it will drive to 4 ohms. With a second cabinet, even the 100 watt head will "do" all but the most extreme gigs.

If anyone wants to ROCK with 2x15's, on the cheap, PM me.
  4. Folmeister

Folmeister Knowledge is Good - Emile Faber Supporting Member

I played through an L4 for over twenty years. It was one of the most reliable amps I have ever encountered. It was a war horse. Tough as nails. Yeah, fixing the power switch was a bear, and I had to have the solder joints redone a couple of times, but I loved that thing. I just picked up a Lab Series guitar combo not long ago for my rehearsal space (great Marshall-like tone!). Unfortunately, the L4 finally gave up the ghost and burst into flames a couple of years ago.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Doug Eib

Doug Eib Guest