LaBella Deep Talkin' Bass 760RL Roundwounds - Sounds like??

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by bobalu, Oct 21, 2012.

1. bobalu

bobalu

I've been searching for reviews and opinions on the LaBella Deep Talkin' Bass roundwounds and can't really find any comments. I can only find comments on their flatwounds (obviously far more popular).

Anyone here use the roundwound version? The construction seems different from conventional SS roundwounds with a thinner core wire and multiple wraps. So I'm guessing they're more flexible then your average hex core. I'm really wondering what kind of sound they have though. I found one (1!) review that said they were smooth for a SS string and that they sounded close to the flatwound version.

I've always been a nickel plated string player and want to try SS, so I have no experience with the steel.

Thanks!
  2. bobalu

bobalu

No one? Really??
  3. Luckydog

Luckydog Supporting Member

I use them on a jazz. To me they are kind of a cross between sadowsky, dr lorider, and zon strings if that makes sense. They age very well, are even sounding across all the strings, and have good mid punch, plenty highs, and decent (not boomy) lows. The E is tapered. Great growl. I think they are probably my top roundwound. They sound nothing like a flat. I dont notice tension that much so cant comment on that. I spose theyre medium tension. Ive got about 5 sets that i rotate through the denatured alcohol soak. They last a looong time.
  4. bobalu

bobalu

Thanks Luckydog, good info.

As far as SS strings go, do you find the LaBellas smooth or rough? (Rotos being rough and DR High beams being smooth).
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. SirMjac28

SirMjac28 Patiently Waiting For The Next British Invasion Gold Supporting Member

I've tried them on a P for a nice rock tone love them I only use Labella strings
  7. Luckydog