Last min gig in Japan, no flight case

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Force, Feb 4, 2013.

1. Force

Force

G'day,

My band got offered a very last minute gig in Japan for next weekend just the other day and we've accepted it. I have no flight case for my bass and I don't think there's enough time to get one. Will it be safe enough to just use my regular case for now? We're flying from Australia by the way.

2. zaviere

zaviere

Well I'm no expert but if it were me, no way jose. Although if there was NO WAY of getting a flight case. I'd prolly pack that case TIGHT full of packing peanuts especially under the head stock. All it takes is one fall backwards or a good enough slam onto the back of the guitar and the neck could be badly damaged. And then maybe at least get a cr@pload of those fragile stickers that you put on mail packages and plaster them all over the case.

3. zaviere

zaviere

I'd also try to at least budget to rent a bass in case of worst case scenario.

4. ::::BASSIST::::

::::BASSIST:::: Expectation Is The Root of All Suffering. Supporting Member

^ Yup. Rent a budget bass, and put a ton of insurance on it. Then set it up like you prefer and pack the crap out of it.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. TolerancEJ

TolerancEJ

I'd try to buy a used one when I reached Japan. Who knows? You might find a good deal. Could end up with something like a cool TYO Sadowsky, which I understand are badass.

7. codydang

codydang

I'm sorry, I just have to say, Japan!? That's awesome! I'm curious, how'd you guys get the gig?

8. MopHarris

MopHarris

I went over to Japan with the band last September, my advice is to buy one over there. I'm from Australia and it would've cost me around $350 in extra charges to take my bass over there.