Learn the song Drummer! Is this too much to ask?

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by Sludgemuffin, Feb 11, 2013.

1. Sludgemuffin

Sludgemuffin

I play Bass in my band. Ive been playing bass for 30 years.

We play local bars...we get paid to perform. We play 80's Rock cover tunes...songs that will rock a bar scene...cause the women to get up and dance...get the house rockin...etc.

So...I feel its up to us to make the song sound good, and as much like possible like the song were covering.

We had to let our last drummer go...for many RL reasons, but mostly...because he just would not take the time to sit down and learn the song we are trying to play - whether its Bon Jovi, or Van Halen, or Nightranger..he just wouldnt take the time to sit down and actually learn the song...

- the little accents specific to the songs beat
    - the fills
    - the precise beat as its played by the original band.

New drummer...turning out to be the same deal. Shows up to practice...hasnt learned to song...wants to hear it again and learn it on the spot. No...you do that BEFORE you come to practice.

AND...he just wings alot of stuff. Its different almost every time he plays the song. For example...during Journey...Dont Stop believin...I notice he's playing basically the drum beat from ACDC - You shook me all night long.

Thats nice...but that not how the beat goes. You might be able to con drunk people into accepting that as the Journey song...but it doesnt impress me.

But somehow...Im the bad guy...because I have the honesty to tell the guy..."look man, you have a working knowledge of how to play drums, but youre just winging it through on half of the songs. Not to mention...weve got half a dozen songs on the docket to learn...and you just arent learning them...but winging them."

he says..."Ive been listening to the song all week man."