1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Learning Issues

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by tandc, Feb 10, 2014.

1. tandc

tandc

Hi all, I have some questions about learning the bass. Essentially, I'm looking to find the right method for me.

I'm actually a decent drummer, I also compose music, knowing a few chords on the guitar and piano.but my real love is the bass. Jamerson, Palladino, Norman Watt-Roy, Bernard Edwards, these are my heroes. I've played bass in the past, but really only learned a song at a time. My issue is that I've never had any kind of fluidity on bass. Without counting up I can't tell you the name of any note I'm playing. I dont know any scales, and I can really only play the simplist riffs by ear. I want to learn. But, here's my issue. Where to start? Do I need to know by sight where every note is on my fretboard? Is initially knowing the notes really important? Ideally, I'd just like to listen to a song and just know by ear where the notes are on the fretboard, to play along. I'm not that bothered about knowing what those notes are.

For instance., tonight I put on an old soul track, I found the root, made up a new bassline for it, and played along, but doing a roll, I came unstuck. My playing just comes to a sorry end. I'll play the wrong notes, or maybe the odd right one if lucky. My aim is to be able to play along, do a roll, and know where to go on the chord changes.

Help!

2. el murdoque

el murdoque

first of all, i recommend a few lessons to get started. You don't want to develop a bad technique from the start - if you're doing anything wrong and let it settle in, it'll come back at you later and it'll be be way harder to correct it by then.

You don't need to know the fretboard by heart from the beginning. You'll grow into this.