learning things

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by wcnewby, Jan 8, 2013.

1. wcnewby

wcnewby Supporting Member

In keeping with how life is, I've seemingly studied for the wrong test again. This is kind of a music teacher verses self taught type thread. I've been playing for about a year now, got lessons from a very good teacher and I'm working with my first band. They are all self taught, all of them. Lead guitar, rhythm guitar, drummer... and they are good.
    They play their instruments well, and I would like to play my instrument well with them.

To start, I kind of thought I would get music, or a copy of chord progressions, but I did not. I did get a cd, and I went online to get the chord progressions. Note... they aren't all the same... It is possible for the rhythm guitar to memorize one progression and I to have another.... even in the same key... They don't read music, but they know their necks, which means they know mine. They can see what I am playing, or, they know if I'm not playing the root note of their chord.

They say I should watch their hands, and I do... but my music teacher taught me a different way of making the chords. I make a G different, and don't recognize from looking that he is making a G. Furthermore, he uses a Capo, I do not speak capo. My music teacher taught me to shift between frets in order to achieve different notes.

So, today could have gone better... there were good moments. I got the right progressions on a couple of songs. I have asked for chord progressions, I don't know how well that is going to go over. I won't say that the way I learned is better and I am trying to make sure that it doesn't even look like I think my way is better. I'm trying to fit in and be part of the team.

Surprised... that is what I am.
  2. fmoore200

fmoore200