1. Please note: We are performing several software upgrades tonight, Sept 29th. Please bear with us. You may notice some formatting issues and other bugs.

Learning to keep the fingers 'down'

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Fergie Fulton, Jan 9, 2014.

1. Fergie Fulton

Fergie Fulton

Fingers 'down', or finger 'on' are just terms for keeping them touching the strings, the fingers are not up and away from the strings so to speak.
    Because of the nature of playing bass, many self-taught players never get the required training in their hands because they focus in playing what the like, rather than being trained to play what is put in front of them in any eventuality.
    The main problem is the under-development of the Ulnar side of the hand, the Ring and Little in particular.
    I hear many complaints of the little finger having a mind of its own so to speak and i find this exercise addresses most of them.

When any finger does this it is because the muscles, tendons, joints etc are tight..not relaxed.
    When one moves its neighbour gets involved because the attachments they share are tight.
    Some may have a deeper more involved attachment and so for them the problem is worse.
    But the good news is in both situations it can be relieved, reduced or eliminated depending on the hands history and use.

The exercise in the link helps the extensors stretch against the flexors in use.
    The exercises are a frame work, so can be repeated up and down, backwards and forwards as many times as the player can manage, but i recommend no more than 10mins. in a session, see them as warm ups and stretches rather than musical exercises.

Any questions this material raises drop me a PM or post here and i will try and help if i can.

http://youtu.be/iH1CdRfnudM

2. Synthax

Synthax