1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

learning to slap and pop, but neck is too heavy?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by xucaen, Jan 29, 2013.

1. xucaen

xucaen

I started practicing slap and pop tonight, and the problem is when I pop, I have to raise my forearm off of the bass body. When I do that, my neck heavy bass slides and I have to hold it up with my left hand. This happens in both the sitting and standing positions. Needless to say this makes playing very difficult.

Normally when playing with two fingers, my right forearm holds the bass steady so I don't have this problem otherwise. It's only when I try to pop. Does this happen to anyone else and what should I do about it?

EDIT: Is the solution simply to learn to pop without lifting my forearm off the bass? Probably. Any recommendations for how exactly to perform the technique of popping with my arm resting on the bass?
  2. 4StringTheorist

4StringTheorist

You need to find a way to fix the balance of your bass. Padded strap, move the bridge side strap pin, lightweight tuners, etc...
  3. VanillaThundah

VanillaThundah

I guess I'm not getting the visual here...you're saying that you are playing bass WITHOUT your left hand supporting the neck? Most basses have neck dive to some degree, and there are ways to alleviate it but nothings perfect unless its boutique lol
  4. 4StringTheorist

4StringTheorist

I think you can have a perfectly balancing bass without a boutique price tag.