1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Learning upright necessary?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [DB]' started by ELITE55, Feb 6, 2013.

1. ELITE55

ELITE55

Hi I've been playing electric for 6 years (24 years old) and I've decided I want to go all in and make music my career/life. I'm really interested in working cruise ships for a little while and going from there. I'm also looking into the military. I'm about to attend the players school of music in Florida this spring to advance my electric skills but I'm really considering adding upright. So do you think it's critical that I learn upright if I want to have a successful career?
  2. Ed Fuqua

Ed Fuqua

If you don't really care what kind of music you play, then it is way to expand the possibilities for gigs. How accomplished you'll need to be on each is pretty contingent on where you are located, the more competition for gigs, the better you'll need to be. There ar eplenty of folks out there, however, who have made either a life or a career, sometimes both, playing only one or the other.
  3. EricssonB

EricssonB

Enlisted age cutoff is 27 last I checked.
  4. tcl

tcl