Learning upright necessary?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by ELITE55, Feb 6, 2013.

1. ELITE55

ELITE55

Hi I've been playing electric for 6 years (24 years old) and I've decided I want to go all in and make music my career/life. I'm really interested in working cruise ships for a little while and going from there. I'm also looking into the military. I'm about to attend the players school of music in Florida this spring to advance my electric skills but I'm really considering adding upright. So do you think it's critical that I learn upright if I want to have a successful career? Thanks

2. SirMjac28

SirMjac28 Patiently Waiting For The Next British Invasion Gold Supporting Member

I don't think it's critical but it certainly makes your playing skills more diverse which may translate to more gigs good luck in your future endeavors.

3. noplayinfool

noplayinfool

I would not say that learning double bass is necessary to a career in music as a bass player. The fact that the double bass is such a challenging instrument makes it hard to pursue it as a secondary instrument. Although not impossible, a lot of time would be spent learning the instrument that could be spent on your bass guitar. Learning the double bass proficiently enough to earn some real bread by playing orchestra, broadway shows, the better jazz gigs in your area, and what-not would basically mean putting the electric bass down for a while.
    On the other hand, proficiency in some simpler music on the instrument i.e; Bluegrass, some Jazz, or Folk music, would be great to fill in the holes of your gig calendar.
    This is not meant to in any way to discourage you from trying the double bass, it is an extremely rewarding instrument. Take care and I will see you in the spring.
    Joe Porter
    Director of ensembles, instructor Double bass and Bass guitar, The Players School of Music

4. fdeck

fdeck Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    HPF Technology: Protecting the Pocket since 2007