Left hand technique for small handed?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by phii, Jan 3, 2013.

1. phii

phii

I have been playing the bass for about six months.

Studied the bass through instructional videos from artists like Scott Devine, Flea, Dave LaRue..., I learned that most Western bass players covers their left hand on four frets (index on the first fret, middle on the second fret, ring on the third fret, and pinky on the fourth) .

As an Asian, I have lengthy fingers, but small hands. So I found the four fret stretching quite hard (esp. the first 6 frets). Yes I have done alot of stretching exercise, chromatic scales, appregios... and got used to stretching chromatically. At first I always feel strain, but slowly gain comfortableness over time.

However, by meeting my teacher (who is also an Asian), he instructed me to cover my hand on THREE frets on the first 12 frets (that means pinky on third fret, ring finger is used situationally) and chromatic on higher fret. I found the 3 frets positioning much more comfortable to play, but earlier got used to chromatic already.

So I'd like to hear some opinions from you guise. Should I strictly follow teach's instruction, or mix both technique on proper situations?

2. anonparrot

anonparrot

There really isn't a right or wrong way. I find that until I get to the 5th fret I find it hard to cover 4 frets. After the 5th fret 4 fingers / 4 frets isn't to bad.

Find what works for you and keep at it.

--Anonparrot

3. 1958Bassman

1958Bassman

Do what works for you. I have really big hands and never liked long scale basses, so I bought a short scale model. The truss rod has major problems, so I stopped playing that one for a long time before buying an Ibanez fretless, which is long-scale. Oddly, I find that I spend a lot of time playing in the lowest fret positions.

Watch Eric- he has small hands and plays all over the neck-

He plays 5-string a lot, too, as seen in this link.